Rewrite, pg. 69

IMG_4135

I’ve forgiven Open Office and am back on track with my rewrite. It took me about an hour to rewrite the things I’d lost, but it wasn’t as traumatizing as I thought it was going to be. Though I can’t remember exactly what I wrote before, I’m pretty sure the new stuff is close enough.

I’m on page 69 of my full rewrite. It has taken me about 2 months to get to this point. That’s a long time for 69 pages. If it makes the story better, though, it’s worth it.

Mostly I’ve been working on merging the two storylines. Ditching the idea that one is more important than the other and instead trying to make them equal. It hasn’t been as hard as I thought it was going to be, and Raine has read enough to tell me that I’m at least on the right track. She is nice enough to read the rewrite one chapter at a time to let me know what’s better and what still doesn’t work.

Since I started the rewrite, the story has gotten 8 pages longer. That seems like a lot when I think about everything I’ve deleted. But I guess when I delete one thing I add something else. Hopefully it’s adding depth and important detail rather than just more pages.

I read through some of my other stories over the last few days. The ones I’ve neglected and completely forgotten about for the last year and a half because I’ve been spending all my time working on the behemoth. Reading through them makes me optimistic that I’m becoming a better writer, because all I can think as I read is, “Wow, this would be a lot better if I rewrote it the same way I’m rewriting the behemoth.”

I’m not going to do that right now. I think rewriting one 624 page monster is enough for me to deal with. The others will have to wait until my rewrite is complete. Although once I’m done with the rewrite, finishing the behemoth would probably be the next logical step. After all, the entire point of this rewrite is to set up the ending the way I want it so I can finish. With the story the way it was before, I hit an impasse.

I really hope that once everything is rewritten and reorganized, finishing it will just be a matter of putting down what’s already in my head. I already feel like it’s much closer to what I want than it was 2 months ago.

Leave a Reply

