Boredom Post

DSC00263

I’ve been trying to get up early to prepare myself for my 3-day college orientation in the mountains this weekend. We’re going to go hiking, do a ropes course, and have some bonding sessions over a bondfire. Er… bonfire.

I’m used to getting up early. I was up every morning at 5 or 6 in my undergrad and graduate school. I’ve gotten a little out of practice, though. Being married to someone who likes to stay up late plus not working until 9 in the morning has made me a little lazy. So all week I’ve been making myself get up early.

Since I’m naturally a morning person, my plan worked very well. I was up at 5:45 two days ago, 6 yesterday, and 5:30 today. I was so ready to get up this morning that I woke up at 5 and stayed in bed until my alarms went off simply because there was no reason to get up earlier.

I got up, went for a walk (which irritated my still tender toe. I had to limp home), then watched two episodes of Criminal Minds on one of those rerun cable channels. Then my husband got up. Exciting! Made breakfast, ate it, watched Cupcake Wars.

Now it’s 10:30. I don’t teach for two and a half hours and I’m BORED OUT OF MY MIND. I’m in too jolly a mood to want to concentrate on my story, which is pretty serious and kind of depressing. So instead I’m writing this post and listening to music because I can’t think of anything else to do.

I’d go out for a drive or something, but then I’d have to close the doors of my condo, and it would get stuffy, and it’s nice and cool in here right now. Don’t want to do that.

What do people do when they’re bored? I don’t want to watch tv or go anywhere. There’s nothing interesting on the internet. I don’t really read much these days because I always get caught up on writing style and character development or whatever else and end up going to my own story to compare and analyze. And like I already said, I’m in too good a mood to work on something dark.

I’M SO BORED. I’m like a 5-year-old. Bored. Bored. Bored.

That’s my doggie up there. She seems bored right now, too. She keeps woofing at nothing outside. Maybe I should try it.

Leave a Reply

