Rewrite, pg. 179 and end of Part 1!

IMG_4135

With starting school, going to the gym more, volunteering for a wildlife project, and getting my fall teaching schedule organized, I haven’t really been able to keep up with my blog. I have, however, kept up with my rewrite.

I’m finished rewriting part 1! It’s very exciting. The rewrite is a project I started around May. It’s more difficult and time consuming than I thought it would be, but it’s definitely worth it. I feel like the overall quality of the new version is well above that of the old.

It’s also considerably longer. I don’t know if that’s good, bad, or doesn’t matter. Between focusing more on the secondary storyline, introducing more characters sooner, and giving a little more attention to those characters who become important later on, the thing has just grown uncontrollably.

My original part 1 was 8 chapters and 115 pages long. The new one is 10 chapters and 179 pages, with considerably longer chapters than before.

Some people don’t like long stories and might say what I’ve done is overkill. I don’t agree. I like long stories. Plus, in my mind, everything I wrote needs to be there. It all adds something. Some of it needs to be trimmed and edited, but everything is there for a reason. I’m sure my trusty test readers will have something to say about that after they read.

I don’t really have anything else to talk about. I started school today and learned all about my biology syllabus. I have more violin students than I expected to have this fall. I’m seriously considering quitting one or both of my orchestras next year. I want it to be fall now so I stop sweating all day. And I finished rewriting part 1. Now, time for some homework.

My story takes place in Juneau, Alaska, so above is a picture from my vacation to Juneau. Ain’t it a pretty place?

One response to “Rewrite, pg. 179 and end of Part 1!

  1. Pingback: New Page! | The Jacquel Rassenworth Blog·

Leave a Reply

