Stuff

IMG_7304

Back from vacation and ready to be productive.

I’m cutting way back on drinking alcohol. It’s so easy to drink too much without realizing I’m doing it. My husband is cutting back, too. It’s easier to do it together.

I’m still counting calories. During the trip I gained back all the weight I’d lost, so I’m starting over, but I’m determined to do it and stop yo-yoing forever.

We’re using winter break to completely clean and reorganize our house. We’re going to finish painting the walls, rearrange the living room, get rid of as much stuff as possible, and rethink our storage so we can hide whatever junk we end up keeping. I’m getting rid of any clothes I haven’t worn in about six months, and we’re going to try to sell most of our music theory and history books.

It will be a long process, but worth it. Less stuff in the house will make it easier to keep clean once I’m busy in school again.

I am also trying to write a bunch over break. I didn’t take my computer on vacation, so I really started working this last Tuesday. Right now I’m on page 281 of my rewrite. I am REQUIRED to make it to page 300 during break, but I’d like to get closer to 350 since I have a lot more free time than usual.

It has been hard to make myself write. I got caught up on one part and didn’t do anything for two days. I forced myself to get past it today, to just write something so that I could move on. I can go back and edit it later. I keep needing to remind myself of that.

I am telling myself that the reason I’m having trouble writing is because I just got back from vacation and my brain is still all worn out from school. Regardless, I only have 3 weeks of break left. I know that it seems like a long time now, but in what feels like 5 minutes it will be the weekend before I have to go back and I’ll have done absolutely nothing with my story. I don’t want that to happen.

My daily goals for break are to read, write, exercise, and clean. Since getting back from vacation I’ve written, cleaned, and exercised every day and read zero days. I need to get back to reading. However, reading is the one thing I actually did on vacation, aside from a few walks, so I’m being lenient with myself. I’m planning to read quite a bit over the weekend, when I have even less to do than I do now.

Read, write, exercise, and clean every day. Sounds so simple. Why does it seem like my days keep disappearing before I get everything done? I also have to do errands. I did quite a few today, and tomorrow I get to spend the morning at the laundromat. But still. I should have no trouble doing everything I want to do.

I’ve been extremely tired since finishing school. I think that will wear off pretty soon. I think it’s already starting to. That should make it easier to get stuff done. Still, despite my tiredness, I’m pleased with the amount of cleaning we’ve done since Tuesday. I just need to stay motivated with that, and get my butt in gear for reading and writing!

2 responses to “Stuff

  1. Correct me if I’m wrong but I’m almost positive that’s Yellowstone in the picture. 🙂 I’ve been there a lot. Hope you visited the paint pots!

    Best of luck with your resolutions.

    • It is Yellowstone! I’m not sure if I’ve been to the paint pots, but it seems like we went everywhere in the park, so I probably have and just didn’t know what they were.

Leave a Reply

