More Editing, My Burned Pinkie, and Violin

DSC_0113

I burned my pinkie on a hot pan lid, so I have to stop writing every few minutes to ice it. Then when I write it’s numb! It’s making me ANGRY!

Aside from that, I feel pretty good about writing right now. I finished editing one story and now I’m working on another. I’ll get back to the behemoth soon, but I’m not worried about it. I’m giving my mind a rest. That’s a good thing.

I’ve started practicing my violin again. I’m learning a piece called the Butterfly Lovers Concerto. If you like violin music you should check it out.

It’s nice practicing. I’m not doing much, maybe 2 or 3 days a week for 45 minutes or an hour at a time. But even that amount is helping. The piece is getting easier to play, not only technically, but physically. I’m hoping that if I practice during the week and get back into good playing shape, I’ll be all ready to go back to my orchestra once I’m off leave.

Did I mention that I’m on leave? I am for a few months, so my neck can rest and I can work on strengthening my upper body. I hope the combination of strengthening and practicing consistently will make things better. If it doesn’t I may still have to quit orchestras. I don’t think I want to do that.

The picture above is one my mom took of a lake we used to walk around when I lived in the Denver area. I’ve been kind of missing Denver lately, which I never thought would happen, so I thought I’d go with a Denver picture.

6 responses to “More Editing, My Burned Pinkie, and Violin

    • The behemoth is the story I’ve been working on for over 2 years now. It’s over 600 pages. It’s the thing I’ve been rewriting for the last few months. I’m hoping to rewrite what’s there, then finish it. I haven’t really been working on anything else since I started it, but after 2 years I think I might be a little bogged down πŸ™‚

      • Wow, I’m impressed you can write that much, that’s probably more than I’ve written in my entire life (Including College). Are you trying to self publish it?

        (Sorry if you already mentioned all this in another post)

        • That’s okay. I have way too many posts. I need a special category just for the behemoth.

          I may try to publish or self publish. I haven’t decided yet. I think it depends on the end product. If, when it’s finished, it’s something I want to put out in the world then I may. I have a friend and my husband reading it as I go, so I think it depends on their feedback, too. If they think it would be interesting to other people.

          I’d like to try if I like the book. It would be pretty cool to have something published.

Leave a Reply

