Rewrite pg. 341

IMG_4905

Reaching my goal of 24 pages a week is, predictably, not going as well as I had hoped. By Monday I came within 3 pages of my goal, even though my goal was 350 and I only got to 341.

The reason I say I was close to my goal is because during the process of rewriting the 15 pages I got done, I cut out 6 pages. So overall, I progressed 21 pages in the book. That may be cheating, but I started last week out slow so I needed something to help me catch up. It made sense to me when I did it, and still does.

This week, I’m starting even slower. Meaning, I haven’t written a word since Monday and it’s Thursday. I’ve recently taken over managerial duties for my husband’s instrument repair business, so I’ve been a lot busier than I would have been if I was just teaching. I’ve been spending 3 full days a week in the town up north, and am adding a fourth next week.

I have Tuesdays off, but this last Tuesday, despite my intention to write for four solid hours, I watched TV for about six hours, then took a nap, then hung out with my husband when he got home from his new full-time job.

We’ve been busy. Both of us. I’ve been getting up at 4:30 in the morning to help my husband get ready for work, and despite being up that early, I seem to have less time to do stuff than I used to. Maybe it’s just because my brain is fried and I can’t concentrate on anything when I DO have time.

Anyway, blah blah. I’m busy. And tired. And a little stressed. Maybe I can’t make my 24 page goal this week, but I’m going to write as much as I can tomorrow, Saturday evening, and Sunday morning, and just see what I can get done. Maybe I can make it to 10 pages and cut a few more and only be behind by like 15 pages. Ugh.

Unfortunately, I have no time to write today. I have this time right now, and instead of writing in my story, I’m writing about how I don’t have time to write. I guess I couldn’t have gotten much done in these five minutes, anyway. I go for a walk in a few minutes because it’s good for me and the baby, and then I head out of town. I get to be up north from 10am until 8pm today, with no portable computerized device to use for writing, and pretty much nothing to do after I meet a couple of customers at 10. Then I’m free until I teach at 3:30. Yay freedom?

I’m going to try to find something fun to do in that time, but honestly all I’ll want to do is take a nap, and I have nowhere to nap up there. I suppose there’s always my car.

Leave a Reply

