November

IMG_2338

I’m not doing Nanowrimo this year.

There are a few reasons. The first is that it’s just too much pressure. I just don’t want to. I don’t need anything else to feel guilty about. I’m already upset that I haven’t been cleaning the house, that I don’t make more money, and that I get stressed out a lot and that’s bad for the baby. Seeing my daily page count grow bigger and bigger every day that I wasn’t able to write would just push me over the edge. Too. Much. Pressure.

Another reason is, I’m not writing a new book. I’m rewriting a book. How would that even work? Do I do a negative word count for everything I erase, then positive for the new stuff? What if I erase 1,500 words and replace it with 800? It would look like I wasn’t making any progress. Should I only count new words I write and not consider the deleted ones? It just sounds like a pain in the butt. And since I’m not willing to put the behemoth aside for a month to write something new, the rewrite issue isn’t going to go away.

So no Nanowrimo. It’s just not worth the hassle.

I am, however, going to write as much as possible in November. I’m going to make a push to get through as many pages each week as I can. I’m not limiting myself to a goal of a certain number of pages. If I want to write more, good. If I don’t write enough, fine. That happens. I’m just going to make an effort to write whenever I can so that I keep making progress.

I’m on pg. 382 of my rewrite now. That’s some pretty decent progress over this last week. The behemoth is now 680 pages, so I’m within 300 pages of finishing the rewrite! I shouldn’t be too excited because it’s still 300 pages, but it feels like a milestone. I’m willing to celebrate anything at this point.

I still feel positive that I can finish the story by July 2015, and I have a small amount of hope that I can finish the rewrite by the end of this year. It’s a tall order, but I’m willing to keep trying. I’ve been having a lot of fun writing over the last few days, even though I’m tired and sometimes it feels like a lot of work. I’ve decided to keep pushing when I’m tired, to just keep on working through until I get to the point where I know anything I change will make the story worse because my brain is turning off. As tired as I am most of the time, that may be the only way to make progress right now.

Happy November, and good luck to anyone who is doing Nanowrimo. It’s a lot of fun, and I’m hoping it’s something I can do again next year. I’m obsessed with the behemoth now, but starting something brand new is always exciting.

It finally feels like fall outside, and people are freaking out. Closing restaurant patios because it’s under 70 degrees, saying it looks like snow because the sky isn’t 100% cloud-free. It’s Colorado, people. It should be snowing by now. This hot fall thing is what’s weird.

It’s below 50 degrees today, so our weatherman is predicting snow in Denver. It’s kind of cute. He must be from out of state. There’s no way it’s snowing here today.

One response to “November

  1. I wanted to do nanowrimo, but when I saw the required word count my mind blew. I’ve only recently got into writing fiction, I’m a landscape and fantasy painter really so it’s a whole new medium and I feel too much of a greenhorn where writing is concerned and a slacker of one at that too.

Leave a Reply

