Wind and Winter

DSC00233

I haven’t had time to write anything at all in the last few days. Maybe a week. This has been one of the busiest weeks I’ve had since being pregnant. Busy + 3rd trimester = I am going to have to sleep a LOT before I start feeling better again.

I don’t know if it’s because I’ve been busy, or if it would have happened anyway, but I’ve lost my voice. That has never happened to me. I can’t enough make enough noise to be heard over the phone. My husband had to come stand right by my face to be able to hear me this morning. I’m hoping it clears up by tomorrow since I have to teach tomorrow, and teaching with no voice might not be very productive. Not to mention that I might be contagious.

The only reason I’m writing this post, other than as an update since I have no progress to mention, is because there is some INSANE wind happening right now in Southeast Denver. Blowing my dogs’ water dish across the deck, making the blinds fly out so far that they hit me while I’m sitting at my desk, throwing around anything outside that’s unsecured, including trash and old boards. This is noteworthy wind. I don’t remember the last time I saw wind like this.

I love it because I love fall. I love cold weather and wind and clouds. However, this might be the first year I’m not looking forward to our first snow. It’s supposed to be 17 degrees and snowing on one of the days I have to drive up north to teach. I don’t think I want to take what is normally an hour and a half drive and add snow, ice, and bad drivers who moved here from out of state since last winter and don’t have a clue how to drive safely on snow and ice. It might take two and a half hours to get home, or I might get in an accident, or I might get stuck with my tires spinning on the ice.

I’m more worried about that kind of thing than I used to be. I have this baby to think about. I don’t need to get into an accident with him. And if I get stranded on the freeway and it’s freezing and I have no food and, worse, don’t have my pregnancy pillow…. I don’t want to think about it.

So I may end up having to miss some teaching days this winter. I used to live next door to where I taught. This never happened to me then. I could make it no matter what was going on with the weather. I know that most people will be understanding, but I’m also worried that they’ll get annoyed and quit. I need more work here in Denver, so that when I can’t make it up there, it’s not as big a deal.

Commuting. So. Much. Fun. Why haven’t I always done it? Why am I not driving further? Why don’t I apply for jobs in Wyoming next? Ugh.

The picture above was taken several years ago during a particularly awesome snow storm. It hasn’t snowed here yet this year. If it looks like this on Wednesday, though, I think I’ll have a pretty good excuse for not leaving town.

One response to “Wind and Winter

Leave a Reply

