Writing and Talking About Writing

IMG_4955

Somewhere on the south western coast of Canada.

5 days into July and I’ve done 10 pages. 70 more to go! I feel optimistic as long as I can keep this pace going.

I’ve been thinking about the act of writing about writing. I do that on this blog and I’ve kind of been figuring out that I don’t like it all that much. I love talking about writing. When I get going with my friend Raine, I nerd out about writing devices and why I think an author did what he did and how blank blank blank was effective or not and what kinds of personal interactions I like and what kinds are cheesy. When I talk like that to my husband he zones out, but at least I have one friend who gets it and likes it as much as I do.

But anyway, writing about writing… I don’t know. If I’m going to write, maybe I just need to go for my fiction. I love writing fiction. I love very little these days. So that should tell me something.

I’m so motivated and excited about writing right now. Reading books that I love has really gotten me inspired. I want so much to create characters that people love and stories that they don’t want to end. Despite all the uncertainty I’ve been feeling about my life the last few years, and despite how often I’ve changed my mind about work, I think I’m finally getting somewhere. I know what I want to do.

That’s a good feeling. This is one of the only things I’ve been sure about in years, along with deciding to have a baby, deciding to marry my husband, and deciding to try to move out of state. This rates as a huge decision for me. So I just need to keep focused and make sure I don’t waste all this motivation by procrastinating.

Me, procrastinate? Pff.

2 responses to “Writing and Talking About Writing

    • Oh yeah, procrastination is my biggest problem with writing. Once I start doing it, I’m fine. I didn’t used to have this problem, not until college. I guess everything else in life has to get in the way when you’re an adult 🙂

Leave a Reply

