September, October Update

Somewhere in Lake Las Vegas. Looks like a golf course. I can't remember because I took this photo years ago.

Somewhere in Lake Las Vegas. Looks like a golf course. I can’t remember because I took this photo years ago.

Wow, I haven’t posted for a while. Living in an RV with no internet and limited solar energy will do that, I guess.

We moved to Las Vegas about two weeks ago. Goodbye, Colorado. It’s one of the best things that has happened to us in years, aside from the baby. My husband makes a lot more money here and I am getting work playing violin instead of teaching it, which I definitely prefer. We’re living right by Lake Mead, and I’m loving everything about being out here.

The baby is over 9 months old now, crawling and standing and being a goof. No walking yet, but I feel like it’s coming soon.

Barring some crazy scheduling that majorly interferes with my writing time, I am going to finish my behemoth in about two weeks, maybe less. I’ve been making crazy progress on it since moving, probably because I’m not so depressed and in a rut. I’ve written 84 pages since the start of November, which was like a week ago. That’s for sure a record for me.

I’ve never been this close to finishing a book. It is, without a doubt, one of my most exciting accomplishments ever. Doesn’t mean I’m going to be able to get published or get anyone to read it, but it’s a step in the right direction. Once I’m finished with the book, I’m going to do a really basic week-long edit, then send it to my beta reader. After that, work on incorporating her ideas while doing a more through editing/rewriting.

I need to go through my notes and make sure I’m not leaving out any giant details. I’ve written so much in the last three months that I can’t remember half of it. There’s a pretty good chance I’ve forgotten to write half of what I’ve been planning for the last few years, but I’m hoping that will all come back to me during the edits.

I have no idea when I’ll get a chance to post again. I’ve been so motivated to work on the story that I haven’t been worrying about it. I guess I’ll just check back in once it’s done!

Leave a Reply

